Book Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Posted February 3, 2014 in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Uninvited by Sophie JordanUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Also by this author: Foreplay
Series: Uninvited #1
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Published by HarperTeen on January 28, 2014
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon

From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school and avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions—not the code embedded in her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?

Literary's Views

This was an intense ride of a crazy world filled with danger and mayhem that captured and held my attention. The story focuses on Davy who’s living her life with her family, friends and boyfriend at the top of her game with a bright future but that all blows up in her face after undergoing a mandatory test for the kill gene called HTS and testing positive. In that instance who Davy was in society was stripped away and she was instantly labeled a “killer” by everyone. The journey that Davy goes from being a normal teenager to dangerous killer was crazy and so messed up what with all the subjection and hostility. It sadden me the way the world was turning out to be and it looked like things would get way worse.

Though Davy wasn’t completely alone, she met some interesting characters going through the same thing. Those like Davy who seemed unlikely to be a crazed killer and others who lived up to the label. Out of them there was Sean, the mysterious bad boy that even though she was weary Davy was drawn to. There were defiantly sparks between Davy and Sean as they navigated the crazy situations that having HTS has brought them and I’m looking forward to see how their relationship develops.

I really enjoyed reading Uninvited by Sophie Jordan with the high action, drama and suspense that it brought. The story brings up a big question of whether murderers are born or made and I liked how Sophie Jordan showcased the problem of HTS with the carriers of HTS and the victims of HTS getting an inside look and how society was changing. Though the ending left off on a major cliffhanger I look forward to see how Davy and her friends deal with all the things to come.

4 Stars

Tags: , , , , , ,

Divider