Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Posted September 15, 2011 in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: Cold Kiss by Amy GarveyCold Kiss by Amy Garvey
Series: Cold Kiss #1
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Romance, Young Adult
Published by HarperCollins, HarperTeen on September 20, 2011
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: BEA
Add to Goodreads
Buy on Amazon

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

literaryviews2

Review

First Impressions

Brining your dead boyfriend back from the grave is not a good idea. No matter how much you loved him. Sadly Wren learned this the hard way.

What Worked

  • Ms Garvey grabbed my attention from the first sentence till the last. I was mesmerized by Wren’s story and how she would deal with the trouble she brought on herself.
  • This was a new twist on the classic love triangle, and I have to say it worked for me. Through Danny, Wren and Gabriel triangle, Ms Garvey decided to push the envelope a bit twisting the element of unconditional love and the extreme measures people would go to keep it.
  • All the characters had depth to them and I enjoyed learning about their stories. Adding depth to the story as a whole.
  • I enjoyed and understood Wren. She had a strong compelling voice, even though she did this crazy thing she owned up to it and faced the consequences of her actions. She didn’t bury her head in the sand and pretend that it didn’t happen. Or go running to her mother to fix things.

Could Have Been Better

  • My only qualm about the story was that I wanted Danny to be more integrated in the story. I wanted to see more of him in the state that he was in, causing even more ruckus then he actually did.

Overall

 

I really enjoyed Cold Kiss. The story was fresh and different, bringing me on this entertaining ride that I didn’t know what would happen next and I enjoyed finding out. Those looking for a romance with a twist should check this story out.
4 Stars